View Full Version : DVD Shrink 2007 is a scam!
jaymc
28th January 2007, 16:01
Don't fall for this scam. This is no such thing as DVD Shrink 2007. See here:
http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/450896
Just a warning,
Jay :policeman:
Ajax
28th January 2007, 16:09
http://www.dvdshrink.org/ is the real site to the free version of the real program
McstylisT
28th January 2007, 19:43
People do try !!! :doh:
Thanks for the warning. :policeman:
Mike89
29th January 2007, 00:12
Looks like they are not charging for DVD Shrink itself but charging (a small fee, heh heh) for using their download service. It's like, "we'll give it to you for free but will charge you for us to send it to you". Nice touch and will probably get a few dupes that will do it. Wonder how much the 'small fee' is? We'll wait for some sucker, I mean dude, to come in and tell us after he does it (and then goes, "doh").
locoeng
29th January 2007, 21:44
You will never have to pay for the real original DVD Shrink and there will never be an update or upgrade...if you are ever asked to pay money, turn around and run....fast.
oldjoe
30th January 2007, 00:03
Another good source for Shrink (http://www.mrbass.org/dvdshrink/) w/ a turorial
Clams
30th January 2007, 01:34
How can one contact the dvdshrink.org page webmasters directly to inform them that the "ads by google" on that page are directly perptuating the scam? That's at least 1/2 the real problem.
-W
locoeng
30th January 2007, 17:32
AFAIK, no one maintains that page anymore...the developer has moved on to work for Nero developing Recode.
There is also a scam alert right there on the portal...http://www.dvdshrink.org/scam.html
You can also find this message in the forums... http://www.dvdshrink.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2307&sid=2d99e9314624683114cad7b6e9ed2898
NTR2DeF
30th January 2007, 19:47
DVD Shrink sux ne ways
Clams
30th January 2007, 20:42
AFAIK, no one maintains that page anymore...the developer has moved on to work for Nero developing Recode.
There is also a scam alert right there on the portal...http://www.dvdshrink.org/scam.html
You can also find this message in the forums... http://www.dvdshrink.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2307&sid=2d99e9314624683114cad7b6e9ed2898
Well, someone is getting paid for the "Ads by Google" hits. That's the whole point of allowing ads. Time to "follow the money". Whomever it is, outta stop the very ads that cause the scam problem from appearing on that page of all pages. Heh.
-W
locoeng
30th January 2007, 20:57
Well, someone is getting paid for the "Ads by Google" hits. That's the whole point of allowing ads. Time to "follow the money". Whomever it is, outta stop the very ads that cause the scam problem from appearing on that page of all pages. Heh.
-W
I saw no ads on the main page when I looked at it as I was curious to see what you were talking about. Could you provide a link to what you are talking about?
This is what I see...
Clams
31st January 2007, 09:47
OK.. I just went to:
http://www.dvdshrink.org
The "ads by google" were in a banner at the top of the page. If you don't see them you must be running a good ad or popup killer.
-W
DetroitBaseball
31st January 2007, 13:58
DVD Shrink sux ne ways
No, it still works.
locoeng
31st January 2007, 17:32
OK.. I just went to:
http://www.dvdshrink.org
The "ads by google" were in a banner at the top of the page. If you don't see them you must be running a good ad or popup killer.
-W
I believe you and all I'm using is Firefox...it has a built in pop-up blocker. Could be that you have a google toolbar or something installed that is giving you the extra ads?
Buddy
1st February 2007, 01:03
Another good source for Shrink (http://www.mrbass.org/dvdshrink/) w/ a turorial
This link has a great turoial for DVD Shrink if you can't figure it out, but the links to get Shrink are nothing but a SCAM, they want your email, then set up a payment method, ect,,,,,BEWARE, DVD SHRINK is FREE, don't even pay for a download for a FREE program! I'm sure this wasn't intentional by you oldjoe, I've read your other posts and you seem to be a straight up guy!
Clams
1st February 2007, 01:20
I believe you and all I'm using is Firefox...it has a built in pop-up blocker. Could be that you have a google toolbar or something installed that is giving you the extra ads?
Definately not.... I allow almost no extra software to run on my machine(s).
At boot up I'm between 17 and 21 processes running depending on the machine, and I know what they all are. :)
-W (the very carefull)
narcismo
1st February 2007, 01:21
OK.. I just went to:
http://www.dvdshrink.org
The "ads by google" were in a banner at the top of the page. If you don't see them you must be running a good ad or popup killer.
-Wdid'nt see them either. but i feel your pain.
narcismo
1st February 2007, 01:35
look...buy any-dvd and clone, and don't worry about that drama. it's that simple. these mods are burning the midnight oil to try and answer questions about SHRINK and NERO and DECRYPTER. thats bull !.keep it relevent to their products, (or you can post it on afterdawn), don't waste their time.
no disrespect intended, only a plea for a little courtesy. the intent of this forum is to help the owners of their products.:mad:
Clams
1st February 2007, 03:01
look...buy any-dvd and clone, and don't worry about that drama. it's that simple. these mods are burning the midnight oil to try and answer questions about SHRINK and NERO and DECRYPTER. thats bull !.keep it relevent to their products, (or you can post it on afterdawn), don't waste their time.
no disrespect intended, only a plea for a little courtesy. the intent of this forum is to help the owners of their products.:mad:
Dood. This is the THIRD PARTY SOFTWARE forum. The mods put it here. We're discussing a SCAM WARNING.
Past that, It's not the CloneDVD forum. AnyDVD (by itself) is supposed to work with all those third party rippers - so yes questions are inevitable.
-W
locoeng
4th February 2007, 18:05
I've just visited the DVD Shrink page using my laptop and the google ads are there...so it's just something that I've got installed on my desktop that kills the ads, don't know what it is. Anyway, the ads are generated by google adsense and must be installed in the site software to generate the ads...this is a form of revenue for the site.
oldjoe
4th February 2007, 18:30
This link has a great turoial for DVD Shrink if you can't figure it out, but the links to get Shrink are nothing but a SCAM, they want your email, then set up a payment method, ect,,,,,BEWARE, DVD SHRINK is FREE, don't even pay for a download for a FREE program! I'm sure this wasn't intentional by you oldjoe, I've read your other posts and you seem to be a straight up guy!
?????
The link that I posted is to MRBass (http://www.mrbass.org/dvdshrink/). There is no scam on that site. The link posted on that site is to a free download.
oldjoe
4th February 2007, 18:41
look...buy any-dvd and clone, and don't worry about that drama. it's that simple. these mods are burning the midnight oil to try and answer questions about SHRINK and NERO and DECRYPTER. thats bull !.keep it relevent to their products, (or you can post it on afterdawn), don't waste their time.
no disrespect intended, only a plea for a little courtesy. the intent of this forum is to help the owners of their products.:mad:
With all due respect, this thread is titled "DVD Shrink 2007 is a scam!"
It is intended to make people aware that there is no software called DVDShrink 2007 and that DVDShrink 3.2 (the last updated version) is still free.
I also appreciate the hard and dedicated work of the developers of AnyDVD and praise their continuing efforts. Shrink, as well and DVDDecrypter, Nero and many others, are still used by many people to back up their legally purchased DVDs.
If the administrators of this site do not want the members to discuss other usable softwares, I'm sure they will post those wishes on the forum.
locoeng
4th February 2007, 21:58
keep it relevent to their products, (or you can post it on afterdawn), don't waste their time.
This could have been aimed at moi...don't know why though.
And since it has been brought up, DVD Shrink can be found for free here as well:
http://www.afterdawn.com/software/video_software/dvd_rippers/dvd_shrink.cfm
Charlie
9th February 2007, 10:40
Here's the latest on that too.
http://download-dvdshrink.com/join.asp
Thank you for your interest but we are not accepting any new customers.
Can we say busted? http://ganjataz.com/01smileys/images/smileys/Mad%20Jester.gif
Clams
9th February 2007, 16:17
Here's the latest on that too.
http://download-dvdshrink.com/join.asp
Thank you for your interest but we are not accepting any new customers.
Can we say busted? http://ganjataz.com/01smileys/images/smileys/Mad%20Jester.gif
Cool!!!! Score one for the COMMUNITY AT LARGE!! WOOT!!!
-W
Charlie
9th February 2007, 16:32
Cool!!!! Score one for the COMMUNITY AT LARGE!! WOOT!!!
-W
Thought you'd like that. :D
Ajax
9th February 2007, 22:30
I've just visited the DVD Shrink page using my laptop and the google ads are there...so it's just something that I've got installed on my desktop that kills the ads, don't know what it is. Anyway, the ads are generated by google AdSense and must be installed in the site software to generate the ads...this is a form of revenue for the site.
Yes they are on the web page but don't fallow them...
These ads are put there by google who gets money to post adverts on websites that agree wile giving said website royalties...
Charlie
9th February 2007, 22:38
If you read Post #24 you'll se they are more less shut down or in trouble as there is no way to get it now.
locoeng
9th February 2007, 23:06
Yes they are on the web page but don't fallow them...
Wouldn't dream of it...my free version works just fine.