Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which Blu-ray/HD DVD software to install?

Default Which Blu-ray/HD DVD software to install?

Hi there

Hidef newbie here. Just bought an LG GGW-H20L bluray writer and HD-DVD playbackcombo drive.

I have upgraded my AnyDVD to the HD version (since I do not have HDCP compliant graphics cardor monitor).

I have Nero v7 Ultra version.

The LG drive came with Cyberlink Hi-Def suite which has PowerDVD as part of the suite (but no updates since it was launched in June 2007).

I shall probably want to playback Blu-ray & HD-DVD discs as well as backup rips from my HDD.

Should I:

Upgrade to Nero 8 suite and pay for the bluray/HD plug-in?
    Or buy Powerlink DVD Ultra (for the regular updates)?

Are there any other options available? All suggestions & advice welcome....

NigelS

Default Nero 8 or PowerDVD Ultra

You can get PowerDVD Ultra from newegg.com for $71.99.

Nero 8 on sale at nero.com for $49.99. I believe Nero 8 includes the Blu-ray/HD DVD plugin.

At these prices I would buy both.

Correction: Nero 8 is $79.99 for the full version and $49.99 for the upgrade from Nero 7 and yes it does include the Blu-ray/HD DVD capability. The Nero 8 boxed version is $74.99 at newegg.com.
    Last edited by roog; 12th February 2008 at 14:55.

Quote Originally Posted by roog View Post

Nero 8 on sale at nero.com for $49.99. I believe Nero 8 includes the Blu-ray/DVD plugin.

I think if you get Nero 8 you still need to buy the plug-in for $19.99