Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: [Resolved] Burned DVDs will not play in DVD player

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default [Resolved] Burned DVDs will not play in DVD player

    I downloaded the newest version of CloneDVD & AnyDVD. Since then I have had problems getting the backup copies to play on any of our DVD players.

    This occurs with every disc I've tried except WALL-E. Tropic Thunder and The Black Knight as well as a really old movie give me a "NO DISC" when inserted into the DVD player.

    If I burn the files created by CloneDVD with another burning program they work fine in the DVD players. This tells me it should not be a firmware issue as they burn correctly with another burner. (I have uninstalled this other burning Pgm)

    I installed the new DLL today for AnyDVD and the only difference is that the DVDs will now play on my computer. They still will not play in any of my DVD players (I have 3 different ones). I receive 'NO DISC'

    I had Sonic DragtoDisc packet which I removed. (Note: This did not cause a problem before) The only other writing program I have is Tsunami MPG DVD- which I also had before. It did not have a packet installed.

    I am using Taiyo Yuden 16x DVD -R which is also what I used prior to the update of the software. I normally will burn at 4X using CloneDVD.

    When I create the copies of the DVDs I only select English streams- no other languages.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    30,519

    Default

    Summary for drive E: (AnyDVD 6.4.9.1)
    1. Update Anydvd: http://www.slysoft.com/download.html


    HL-DT-ST DVDRRW GSA-H30L S544
    2. Your drive's firmware is outdated, severely (this is pretty important):

    Update your drive's firmware:
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/g...s&lc=en&dlc=en

    I normally will burn at 4X using CloneDVD.
    3. Don't. Use a 12x or 8x burn speed

    4. Ensure you're using Clonedvd 2.9.2.0
    Last edited by Webslinger; 19th December 2008 at 20:07.
    My responses 1) presume you own the original retail disc you are attempting to backup, 2) tend to represent myself only, and 3) do not necessarily represent the views of SlySoft nor its developers. I do not work for SlySoft.

    Please post all technical support questions on the forums instead of private messaging me. Technical support requests sent to me will be ignored. Private message me only for moderation issues, please. Thank you.

    Please read the SlySoft Forum Etiquette before posting.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    The firmware is updating... Took me forever to figure out which type of drive I had.

    Using the newest CloneDVD and AnyDVD.

    I'll try to burn at 8X.

    Thanks!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    30,519

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chocoversion View Post
    The firmware is updating... Took me forever to figure out which type of drive I had.
    It's an LG oem drive that HP rebadged.
    My responses 1) presume you own the original retail disc you are attempting to backup, 2) tend to represent myself only, and 3) do not necessarily represent the views of SlySoft nor its developers. I do not work for SlySoft.

    Please post all technical support questions on the forums instead of private messaging me. Technical support requests sent to me will be ignored. Private message me only for moderation issues, please. Thank you.

    Please read the SlySoft Forum Etiquette before posting.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default No luck...

    Checked my previous burns and they were at 8X.

    Updated the firmware- made sure I was running the most recent versions of BOTH AnyDVD and CloneDVD.

    Reran CloneDVD on The Dark Knight disc.

    Burned at 12X.

    Only selected English

    It will play on my computer, but will not play on any DVD player. Both give "NO DISC" Well, my Blu-Ray just says it can't read the disc.

    I've wasted about 6 Taiyo Yuden discs now

    NEW AnyDVD logfile uploaded. I'd appreciate ANY ideas!
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    30,519

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chocoversion View Post
    Updated the firmware
    This is strange:

    HL-DT-ST DVDRRW GSA-H30L S755 06/12/26

    The firmware update I linked to clearly indicates S856:
    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/g...s&lc=en&dlc=en

    Why are you using S755?


    It will play on my computer
    Well, that indicates Clonedvd worked.

    but will not play on any DVD player. Both give "NO DISC" Well, my Blu-Ray just says it can't read the disc.

    That typically indicates a compatibility issue between your blank media and your players--or a burn quality issue.

    I would like some clarification on the following:

    If I burn the files created by CloneDVD
    Created how?

    with another burning program they work fine in the DVD players. This tells me it should not be a firmware issue as they burn correctly with another burner.
    If you're going to draw conclusions, you need to be using the same burner each time.

    I would try the other burner then that did work for you.
    My responses 1) presume you own the original retail disc you are attempting to backup, 2) tend to represent myself only, and 3) do not necessarily represent the views of SlySoft nor its developers. I do not work for SlySoft.

    Please post all technical support questions on the forums instead of private messaging me. Technical support requests sent to me will be ignored. Private message me only for moderation issues, please. Thank you.

    Please read the SlySoft Forum Etiquette before posting.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    That firmware version is for Vista only- I'm running XP, so I've got the latest firmware for Windows XP.

    The files I can successfully burn are saved on my Harddrive. I create a new directory and I de-select "Delete Temporary Video Files" . This saves the files for each movie onto my HD. I usually keep an archive of the most used/played ones so if they get scratched I don't have to drag out the original DVD.

    The successful burns were using ConvertXtoDVD- which is an EXE that you run, it isn't even an installable program. It's really annoying as I have to reboot between every single burn- so it's not something I want to use.

    I am very hesitant to believe it's a media compatibility problem. I've been using these DVDs for over a year- and I've never had ONE disc that was incompatible until now- when I downloaded this new version. That just goes beyond the odds. And it isn't one disc either. It has been at least 10 of them.
    Last edited by chocoversion; 20th December 2008 at 11:09.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    30,519

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chocoversion View Post
    I downloaded the firmware from the HP site before I saw your link- so obviously HP is behind the times I'll just download the newest from your link now.

    The successful burns were using ConvertXtoDVD- which is an EXE that you run, it isn't even an installable program. It's really annoying as I have to reboot between every single burn- so it's not something I want to use.

    I am very hesitant to believe it's a media compatibility problem. I've been using these DVDs for over a year- and I've never had ONE disc that was incompatible until now- when I downloaded this new version. That just goes beyond the odds. And it isn't one disc either. It has been at least 10 of them.
    I'm just saying typically the playback issue is due to a compatibility issue between the media and the player. It doesn't really make any sense that the disc would be playable in one thing and not another otherwise. But normally, if TY's worked before they should still work. So I'm not sure what's going on in your case.

    You said you used another "burner". Did you just mean program or drive?

    In Clonedvd if you set the ouput to "dvd files" (on Clonedvd's output page), and then burn the result using imgburn (it's freeware; google it), will the disc play fine?

    I think I would try another drive.
    Last edited by Webslinger; 20th December 2008 at 11:04.
    My responses 1) presume you own the original retail disc you are attempting to backup, 2) tend to represent myself only, and 3) do not necessarily represent the views of SlySoft nor its developers. I do not work for SlySoft.

    Please post all technical support questions on the forums instead of private messaging me. Technical support requests sent to me will be ignored. Private message me only for moderation issues, please. Thank you.

    Please read the SlySoft Forum Etiquette before posting.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I should have clarified- I only have one DVD "burner" on this computer. I do have another computer, but I don't have all my software installed on it. Worst case scenario I can try installing everything on my laptop- which is my second computer.

    I just used a different burning PROGRAM, the ConvertXtoDVD- same exact DVD drive.

    I think I've got IMGburn. I'll give that one a try.

    I agree, this is SO bizarre, making me nuts!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I created an ISO with ImgBurn, and then burned a DVD.

    It works in all my DVD players. Same DVD media, same DVD burner I've been using with CloneDVD.

    This is really inconvenient though, as you have to go through an entire second conversion process.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •