Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: IsThreadDesktopComposited could not be located in the dynamic link library USER32.dll

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    25

    Default IsThreadDesktopComposited could not be located in the dynamic link library USER32.dll

    Whenever running the Desktop shortcut:
    "F:\Program Files\SlySoft\Game Jackal\GameJackal.exe" /desktop

    ---------------------------
    Gamejackal: GameJackal.exe - Entry Point Not Found
    ---------------------------
    The procedure entry point IsThreadDesktopComposited could not be located in the dynamic link library USER32.dll.
    ---------------------------

    XP Pro fully patched.

    P.S. I love Slysoft and I'm certain this kind of stuff is going to smooth right out...just like Slysoft always does. So, I'm not complaining in the least. Just trying to be helpful. Let me know if I can help in any way by doing more testing or whatever.

    -----------
    A Registered user 3-times over for everything Slysoft sells.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Sorry to bump an old message, but I just did a google and came across this link. I am having the same exact error message.

    Was this issue resolved for TU3yZ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    30,519

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by UGotServed View Post
    Sorry to bump an old message, but I just did a google and came across this link. I am having the same exact error message.

    Was this issue resolved for TU3yZ?
    Given the thread you bumped is from June 2007 without the poster ever posting back, I would imagine so.
    My responses 1) presume you own the original retail disc you are attempting to backup, 2) tend to represent myself only, and 3) do not necessarily represent the views of SlySoft nor its developers. I do not work for SlySoft.

    Please post all technical support questions on the forums instead of private messaging me. Technical support requests sent to me will be ignored. Private message me only for moderation issues, please. Thank you.

    Please read the SlySoft Forum Etiquette before posting.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Unfortunately, I am having the same issue, and was wondering if anyone knows how it was resolved.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    2,163

    Default

    My first guess would be that you have an issue with your Windows installation. Is GJ the only application reporting this error?
    Matthew

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Yes. GameJackal is the only software reporting this error.

    WinXP Pro SP3

    I also have been running AnyDVD HD without any problems, as well as other software from slysoft.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Any ideas about what is wrong? I am running Checkpoint ZoneAlarm firewall, with Avira Premium for my anti-virus. I also have Webroot Spysweeper, but I shut it down whenever I start up Game Jackal. Should I try to reinstall Game Jackal?

    Also, just wanted to mention I am having the same problem with BF2 and BF2142 as posted by users in this other thread:

    http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=24153&page=2

    At first I thought my constant re-imaging may have been caused by IsThreadDesktopComposited error message.

    Here is the Game Jackal info:
    SOFTWARE: Game Jackal v3.1
    CORE VERSION: 3.1
    CLIENT VERSION: 3.1.2.2
    DRIVER VERSION: 3.1.2.2
    PLATFORM: 2000, XP and Vista (32 and 64 bit platforms)
    DATE: 2008-12-16
    Additional info:
    Windows XP SP3 (32 bit)
    ZoneAlarm version:8.0.065.000
    Avira Product version 8.2.0.252 11/21/2008
    Webroot Spysweeper 6.0.xxxxx
    Last edited by UGotServed; 12th January 2009 at 18:18.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    25

    Default

    1. No, I haven't resolved it, and I still have this same problem to this day.
    You reminded me to look at it again though....


    2. If I run,
    ""F:\Program Files\SlySoft\Game Jackal\GameJackal.exe" /silent",
    then I get a pop-up that says this:

    ---------------------------
    58972gj: 58972GJ.EXE - Entry Point Not Found
    ---------------------------
    The procedure entry point IsThreadDesktopComposited could not be located in the dynamic link library USER32.dll.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------

    3.
    This pop-up occurs exactly when Game Jackal does this:

    00:00:04.437: LoadLibraryA("dwmapi.dll") called from "f:\program files\slysoft\game jackal\58972GJ.EXE" at address 0x004AC7FE.
    00:00:04.453: Loaded "f:\windows\system32\DWMAPI.DLL" at address 0x563A0000. Successfully hooked module.

    4. When I click the OK button on the pop-up above, then it runs until I get a 2nd pop-up that says this:

    ---------------------------
    58972gj: 58972GJ.exe - Entry Point Not Found
    ---------------------------
    The procedure entry point IsThreadDesktopComposited could not be located in the dynamic link library USER32.dll.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------


    5. This 2nd pop-up occurs exactly when Game Jackal does this:

    00:00:05.953: LoadLibraryA("dwmapi.dll") called from "f:\program files\slysoft\game jackal\58972GJ.EXE" at address 0x004AC7FE.
    00:00:05.969: Loaded "f:\windows\system32\DWMAPI.DLL" at address 0x563A0000. Successfully hooked module.

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    F:\WINDOWS\system32\dwmapi.dll
    12/08/2006 04:36 PM 37,376 dwmapi.dll
    MD5 = 7ac53e9745beaa47568c7766a01e112e
    SHA-1 = f5c215481484befab1256afc9415ed43b2c30587
    Product Version: 6.0.5384.4
    Company: Microsoft Corporation
    File Version: 6.0.5384.4 (winmain_beta2.060518-1455)
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    F:\WINDOWS\system32\user32.dll
    04/14/2008 04:42 AM 578,560 user32.dll
    MD5 = b26b135ff1b9f60c9388b4a7d16f600b
    SHA-1 = 08fe9ff1fe9b8fd237adedb10d65fb0447b91fe5 user32.dll
    Product Version: 5.1.2600.5512
    File Version: 5.1.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-2105)
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I'm running MS Windows XP Pro SP3 too.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------

    If you figure it out, I'd like to know too please.

    Taz
    Last edited by TU3yZ; 12th January 2009 at 21:12.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    25

    Default

    1. If I run this program from a "DOS" console:

    #include <windows.h>
    #include <stdio.h>


    int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {

    HINSTANCE hinstLib=NULL;
    BOOL fFreeResult=FALSE;

    hinstLib = LoadLibrary(TEXT("dwmapi"));


    if(hinstLib != NULL)
    {
    printf("\nGOOD: Loaded dwmapi.dll OK!");

    fFreeResult = FreeLibrary(hinstLib);

    if(fFreeResult) { printf("\nGOOD: Freed dwmapi.dll OK!"); }
    else { printf("\nBAD: Failed to Free dwmapi.dll!"); return(2);}

    } else {
    printf("\nBAD: Loaded dwmapi FAILED!");
    return(3); }

    return(0);
    }


    2. Then I get this pop-up window:

    ---------------------------
    LoadLibraryA.exe - Entry Point Not Found
    ---------------------------
    The procedure entry point IsThreadDesktopComposited could not be located in the dynamic link library USER32.dll.
    ---------------------------
    OK
    ---------------------------


    3. After clicking OK, I get this console output:


    "BAD: Loaded dwmapi FAILED!"

    which corresponds to ERRORLEVEL 3.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    25

    Default

    Must be a bad, corrupted, wrong, etc. DWMAPI.DLL file.

    If you guys figure out the right DWMAPI.DLL file for MS Windows XP Pro SP3 (and where to get it), then please let me know.

    Thanks.

    Taz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •