Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: Copy VHS Tapes?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    4

    Default Copy VHS Tapes?

    Can anyone tell me the best way, or any way, to copy a VHS tape that is copy protected? I want to copy some tapes to DVD. I can copy most tapes OK, but some that are copy protected flicker and sputter. I bought a Clarifier from Facetvideo and it does not work as advertised.

  2. #2

    Default

    I use a Hauppauge Win TV capture card PVR-150 in my computer and play the VHS tape in my player while I record the tape on the computer (via RCA cables) as a mpeg file, then I use Nero 6 ultra to burn the mpeg file to a DVD or play the file back using Nero's Showtime back to a VHS recorder. I have never had a problem doing it like this, it is a lot of trouble /steps , but you will get your tape copied just remember after you get a sucessful copy to deleate the file to save on hard drive space. After the tape is copied the protection is gone on the copied tape because you have changed the format of the file from analog to digital - mpeg the quality won't be like a DVD it will only be as good as the tape you are copying except the flips and flutters.
    Cheers ......

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    6

    Default

    If you have a digital video camera, you do not have to buy expensive cards to make the transfer. I have two video cameras that I have used to do just what you are asking about. My newest camera came with a cable that has the three RCA (Video, Audio Left & Right)jacks on one end and an 1/8th inch pin on the other. The 1/8th pin plugs into the camera for input. I connect the RCA jacks to the output on the VCR or DVR. Then connect the camera to the computer as you would with a tape in it with the 1394 cable. You can then record your show and print it to DVD.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks for the responses! I have an ATI All-in Wonder 9800 pro video card in my pc. When I copy a tape without copy protection it works fine. I copy it as mpeg-2, then use InterVideo DVD Creator to edit the content and burn it to DVD. If it is protected I can not copy it because the ATI "start recording" button is disabled. When I then put the Clarifier in the circuit, the "start recording" button is enabled and it will copy, but not without flashes, flickers and sputters. It seems as if the Clarifier eliminates some of the protection, but not all. I have tried in vain to get help from FacetVideo, the makers of the Clarifier. Their only response was that the Clarifier will not work with any ATI cards. I told them that it will not work when I try to copy a tape from one player/recorder to another; no pc involved. They now do not respond to my phone messages or email.

    I do not have a video camera yet. If all else fails I guess I will try that solution.

  5. #5

    Smile Copy Vhs

    I found this really lame way that actually works! If you have a DVR and a DVD recorder you can try this! Hook the VCR into the DVR , then output it to the DVD recorder, then back out to the TV! I know it sounds retarded, but this actually stopped the picture from fading in and out. It's probabley the DVR that has something to do with it! That's how I transfered my VHS tapes to DVD. I kid you not!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Jacksonville, Florida
    Posts
    6

    Default

    If your ATI card is not allowing you to download the video, you can get a 1394 card to drop in a PCI slot for around $25. Most any of the good video editing software (Premiere Elements, etc.) will work with that and let you download your videos and burn them to DVD.

    Not all video cameras are the same. Make sure you get a hold of a good digital camera. Since you do not have one, you might see about borrowing one from a friend or relative just to test things out. You might try finding a used one at a pawn shop or a place like that.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Lost In Middle America
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rgs View Post
    Their only response was that the Clarifier will not work with any ATI cards. I told them that it will not work when I try to copy a tape from one player/recorder to another; no pc involved. They now do not respond to my phone messages or email.
    LOL! That's just pitiful. Sorry to hear that you are being ignored by FacetVideo. I have that same card and absolutely hated the copy protection crap. I ended up not using ANY of the AIW features (just used it as a videocard) and went with a Hauppauge tuner card. Wonder why ATI builds copy protection awareness on their software, while others can bypass it? Must be the deeper pockets. I use the same method Running In The Background describes.

    Really, if you think about it... if you don't have ANY of the items people have mentioned, the Hauppauge card is cheaper than a video cam or DVR (unless your cable system offers a better version than ours does).

    BTW... that's a really old card (in computer chronology).
    Naked Opteron 170 CCBBE 0615EPMW (305x10)@1.5v, DFI LanpartyUT NF4 Ultra-D (704-2 bta), 2x1GB Mushkin XP4000 @ DDR400, 2.5-3-3-8-1T (2.8v), 3dConnect X800GTO @ 600/1160 & 16 pipe BIOS modded, 36GB Raptor, 160GB WD, NEC-3550 (x2), Lian-Li V1200 Plus, PetraTech's Coolkit Elite (Storm rev2, MCW60, MCP655, Black Ice GTS240, MicroRes, 7/16" MasterKleer)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    U.S.A.
    Posts
    133

    Default Stand Alone Recorder is the way to GO!!!

    Buy yourself a Liteon 5005 recorder and your problems are done. This model has some very hackable firmware that allows you to circumvent Macrovision. Also, you can make it region free and add a 3 hour mode if you desire. I've backed up numerous copy protected (i.e. StarWars Trilogy) tapes with great success on the 5005. You can find one for around $100 new. Newegg has this model from time to time

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    4

    Red face :bowdown: Thanks All, but still need help

    Thanks for all the great answers! But what I want to do is simply copy a vhs tape to my hard drive so I can edit it and burn it to DVD. I am looking for some way to do it with the hardware I presently have if possible first, and if not possible, then punt. I was hoping there might be some way to get "Any DVD" in the loop. Or some way to hack the ATI program to stop it from blocking the copy.

    MarkRacer, Does the Liteon 5005 allow editing the tape and copying it to my hard drive?

    Nordicrx8, When you say you have the same card, are you talking about the FacetVideo or the ATI? And which card are you refering to as "really old", the FacetVideo, ATI, or the Hauppauge? Since I have no DVR or Digital video camera, the Hauppauge card may be the solution.

    TerryLP, Can you tell me any more about the 1394 pci card? Any names or models you can recommend?

    Lordvader, Thanks, but I do not have a DVR.

    Running in the Background, I looked for some info on the Hauppauge card and found one reviewer who said it was not as good as the ATI, but was a little smaller and easier to fit into his case. Have you had any quality issues with it?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    independent state of Chicago
    Posts
    18

    Default

    [QUOTE=rgs;3812]Can anyone tell me the best way, or any way, to copy a VHS tape that is copy protected? I want to copy some tapes to DVD. I can copy most tapes OK, but some that are copy protected flicker and sputter. I bought a Clarifier from Facetvideo and it does not work as advertised.

    Check out the Plextor m402u at tigerdirect.com. Wioth AnyDVD running in the background you can copy any vhs tape directly to disc.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •