Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: How do you use Virtual Clone Drive ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default How do you use Virtual Clone Drive ?

    Can anyone give me simple instructions on how to setup and use Virtual Clone Drive?
    I would be very obliged for any help.

    Many thanks
    ron.b.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    691

    Default

    Create an image with clonecd for example of the cd/dvd you want (first very left button).
    Then start virtual clone drive. The best is to chheck the "Virtual sheep"- box. Then go on working place. There should be a device with a sheep icon. Right click and chose the image from where you saved the made image.
    Help to fight:
    * Alzheimer's Disease
    * Cancer
    * Huntington's Disease
    * Osteogenesis Imperfecta
    * Parkinson's Disease
    * Ribosome & antibiotics
    More information http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=69457

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    OK
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Did you find the answer to your question on simple instructions on how to use Virtual Sheep - if so would you post them or send them to me also - Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default

    What "Virtual Sheep" box is sheep talking about? I've been using Virtual CloneDrive for a long time and I don't recall what he is referring to.

    I just install Virtual CloneDrive and then either mount/unmount an image by right-clicking on the drive icon in My Computer/Windows Explorer and then choosing what I want to do (Mount an image or Unmount an image) OR right-click on an image file and choose the option to mount the image using Virtual CloneDrive. I don't recall if Virtual CloneDrive automatically re-mounts an image that was mounted when a Shutdown or Restart takes place... I don't think it does.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    691

    Default

    Go to "programs" then "eloborate bytes" and then start the program "VirtualCloneDrive". Then you will see the checkbox.
    With this the virtual drive gets a sheep icon. So you can see in the working place what the virtual drive is. But it also works without checking the box. It is only for seeing what the virtual drive is. If you know already what the virtual drive is (e.g. drive J) you don't have to check the box.
    Help to fight:
    * Alzheimer's Disease
    * Cancer
    * Huntington's Disease
    * Osteogenesis Imperfecta
    * Parkinson's Disease
    * Ribosome & antibiotics
    More information http://forum.digital-digest.com/showthread.php?t=69457

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Many thanks.

    ron.b

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default Why would you use a Virtual Clone drive?

    I apologize for any and all stupid questions in advance...I'm soooo green.
    Why would you use this and what are the benefits of using the Virtual Clonedrive?
    Thanks,
    trace65

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default

    A few things - you might want to copy a CD to a .iso file so you can run a program that references the CD without needing the physical CD in place, e.g. because you might want to run it on a laptop without a CD drive, or to keep the CD safe from kid's sticky (literally!) hands.

    Another reason is that software distributions, etc, may come in the form of an .iso (e.g. the Archos X04 GPL Source), so a virtual drive means that the .iso can be explored without needing to write it to a physical CD.

    My work releases various product versions as iso's, primarily for burning to CD for customers, but a virtual drive means that I can easily switch between different versions, when supporting different customers, without needing to have physical disks to hand - I can also work on more than one at a time, if I configure multiple drives.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Would this be useful when compiling selected episodes from different dvds? Sorry...Just trying to wrap my head around this.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default i seriously dont understand how to use virtual clone drive

    guys would seriously tell me how to mount a game on virtual clone drive..its making me nuts...i loaded a torrent and to play it..i need to burn or mount the game 1st and install it later..the thing is..i aint wanna waste a cd/dvd to burn it...so~i specially downloaded virtual clone drive juz 4 the reason to play my game...but i seriously dont know how to use it..so..seriously..give me the steps...1 by 1...please~!! THNX~!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •